Recommended Reading

What follows is a reading list we compiled featuring some key texts/authors that inform our thinking. This is by no means a definitive list or required reading, but we thought it might be helpful to signpost some influential material. The impact of the digital revolution has been significant!

Books

Make It Stick: The Science of Successful Learning – Peter C. Brown, Henry L. Roediger & Mark A. McDaniel

Seven Myths About Education – Daisy Christodoulou https://twitter.com/daisychristo

Why Don’t Students Like School?: A Cognitive Scientist Answers Questions About How the Mind Works and What It Means for the Classroom – Daniel T Willingham

Perfect Teacher-Led CPD – Shaun Allison

Outstanding Formative Assessment: Culture and Practice – Shirley Clarke

Finnish Lessons: What Can the World Learn from Educational Change in Finland? – Pasi Sahlberg https://twitter.com/pasi_sahlberg

WarrenBennis2

Blogs/Websites/Articles (+people to follow on Twitter!)

Beyond Levels: alternative assessment approaches developed by teaching schools Research Report (September 2014) – Julie Lilly, Alison Peacock – The Wroxham transformative learning alliance & Sue Shoveller, Dr d’Reen Struthers – South Farnham teaching school alliance

National Curriculum 2014: A Practical Guide to Assessment after Levels Whitepaper No.1 – InfoMentor

TES Connect (Assessment Innovation Fund schools): http://community.tes.co.uk/national_curriculum_2014/b/assessment_without_levels/default.aspx

An overview of the AIF winning schools and the models they are creating: https://www.gov.uk/government/news/schools-win-funds-to-develop-and-share-new-ways-of-assessing-pupils

Recently published research report about the nature of progress in learning – it’s NOT linear: https://sway.com/8KlbVWMiHlsmci5P

Alex Quigley: http://www.huntingenglish.com/2014/05/15/breaking-shackles-national-curriculum-levels/ and http://www.huntingenglish.com/2013/10/12/dirty-work/ also on Twitter at https://twitter.com/HuntingEnglish

Shaun Allison: http://classteaching.wordpress.com/2014/05/05/assessment-without-levels-an-opportunity-for-growth/

Tom Sherrington: http://headguruteacher.com/2014/08/18/contemporary-educational-ideas-all-my-staff-should-know-about/   https://twitter.com/headguruteacher

Ross Morrison-McGill (Teacher Toolkit): http://teachertoolkit.me/ and interesting blog on the ‘Pygmalion effect:’ http://teachertoolkit.me/2013/10/08/pygmalion-teacher-expectancy-effect-by-teachertoolkit-2/?utm_content=bufferbe2e4&utm_medium=social&utm_source=facebook.com&utm_campaign=buffer

David Didau: http://www.learningspy.co.uk/ https://twitter.com/LearningSpy

Hiltingbury School’s Learning Ladders (+ demo online app): http://www.learningladders.info/

Michael Tidd (‘Ramblings of a Teacher’), includes objectives & tracking tools for primary English & maths: http://michaelt1979.wordpress.com/2014/07/28/primary-curriculum-resource-pack/   https://twitter.com/MichaelT1979 Michael’s most recent blog on assessment and tracking (22.12.14) is here: http://michaelt1979.wordpress.com/2014/12/22/assessment-tracking/

NAHT assessment framework materials (only an overview – if you are a member you can access the complete framework): http://www.naht.org.uk/welcome/news-and-media/key-topics/assessment/naht-produces-new-framework-on-assessment-to-guide-school-leaders/

David Pott (SIMS): http://davidpott.com/2014/11/02/much-know-assessment-without-levels/

http://msutoday.msu.edu/news/2014/nature-or-nurture-its-all-about-the-message/

http://www.edutopia.org/blog/tips-providing-students-meaningful-feedback-marianne-stenger?utm_source=twitter&utm_medium=post&utm_campaign=blog-tips-providing-students-meaningful-feedback-shared-image

Dylan Wiliam https://twitter.com/dylanwiliam

Geoff Barton https://twitter.com/RealGeoffBarton

John Hattie https://twitter.com/VisibleLearning

David Weston: https://twitter.com/informed_edu

John Tomsett: https://twitter.com/johntomsett

Tom Bennett: https://twitter.com/tombennett71

NCTL: https://twitter.com/the_college

Cambridge Primary Review Trust: https://twitter.com/CPRnet

Warwick Mansell: https://twitter.com/warwickmansell

Pie Corbett: https://twitter.com/PieCorbett

Alison Peacock: https://twitter.com/AlisonMPeacock

 

 

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s